Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a total newbie to the EV scene and considering my first purchase and also I only have a basic knowledge of house electrical systems, so go gently please!

I was planning to ask a couple of charging questions. However, I have just read through the very interesting thread, "newbie advice on getting ready for an EV" and I think I'm sunk even before I start on my planned move into the world of EV ownership. Our house has a 30A main fuse and, from what I have been reading, I don't think that this will support a 7.4kw wall charger. The situation is that the meter is on an outside wall by the front gate, the distribution board is by the front door and the garage is underneath the house. Is it possible to run a supply to the wall charger im the garage directly from the meter thus bypassing the need to upgrade the fuse in the distribution board please?

·
Registered
NISSAN LEAF 62Kwh
989 Posts
My knowledge is pretty limited in this area as well, but what I do know from having a Podpoint charger fitted, is that you property electric supply needs to be protected with a 100amp fuse, a lot of properties only have an 80amp fuse which make thing a bit tight, which could result in your charger being limited to 16amp (3.6Kws)

The fuse is located between the incoming electric supply and meter, your energy supplier should update this fuse free of charge on request. (it should state the current capacity on it)

When to charger is installed, it is connected up to the supply directly with a spur after the meter so that the supply to the consumer unit is not interfered with. I has it's own circuit breaker unit for protection and isolation.

hope this helps, I am happy to be corrected if I am off the mark with anything.

·
Registered
Renault Zoe 50
18,616 Posts
Our house has a 30A main fuse and, from what I have been reading, I don't think that this will support a 7.4kw wall charger.