Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I am a complete newbie to EV cars, I have ordered an e-golf and due to arrive start of November.
I will be charging at work with standard 3-pin plug, and looking to install a faster type charger at home but don’t know where to start.

There seem so many options out there I don’t know where to start, can anyone recommend a good thread or place I can read up?
I’d appreciate anyone letting me know what worked better for them.
I would also look at changing electric supplier if needed.
Understand there are government grants towards install etc.

Any comments would be appreciated
Thanks Alex

·
Registered
2,191 Posts
If you add your location, you might get some recommendations from localish installers that can survey your house.
My throwaway would be to avoid anything in a green and white plastic casing due to numerous quality problems.

·
Registered
2,976 Posts
Have a read here. https://www.zap-map.com/charge-points/
Even if your Ev only charges at a max 3.3 kW, you'll be looking to get a 7 kW charger as that's what will be most useful in future. Lots of suppliers, some units are prettier than others etc. A 7 kW unit needs a 32A supply, so your house needs to be up to this. I got my 60A house fuse upgraded to 100A by my electricity supplier at very low cost, but older houses may have feebler cables coming so may need a bit more work doing. If the worst comes to the worst, you can go for a 16A 3.3 kW one which only needs 16A supply. It's a good idea to get a small digital consumption meter put in series with it, so you can keep tabs on how much juice the car's using.