Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. Newbie here, about to venture into the full EV world and looking forward to reading the discussions in this forum and to pick up (and share?) hints and tips.

Actually, I broke with etiquette and made my 1st post in the PUG forum section as was planning to take out a PCP on an e208 before the p.i.c.g. grant was reduced. After that, it made us re-evaluate which car to go for.

Currently, I have an Outlander PHEV MY19 as a company car. Yes, I took the car because of the low BIK and also because the 2.2 petrol engine gave me the higher fuel allowance per mile. However, I installed a home charger unit (Zappi to go with my solar PV) and I use the EV mode to its full potential – even charging during longer journeys (with the Chademo) to use electric rather than petrol (regardless whether it was more cost effective – just because it’s a little greener). So, I'm not one of those that just lug a heavy battery around with no intention of ever charging it 😏. This car is due for a change in December 2021, so am debating whether to find a suitable EV (to house a family of 4 plus small dog and that accommodate a roof box) or another PHEV. My longest regular round-trip is about 150 miles. Currently, I’m fancying the Enyaq – if it will be affordable.