Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,

I am completely new to EVs, but definitely getting one in the next few weeks on finance.

I will either get the 40kw Leaf or the 50 kw Zoe.

I wanted to know if there are any services in the UK that can upgrade OR recondition the batteries when they get out of warranty?

I know if I bought a Nissan, the battery would still have a tonne of warranty cover left and around 90000 miles too, so this is more about long term ownership.

How much would it cost to recondition a 40 KW battery, or upgrade it for more range? What's the thermal issues with the leaf batteries, iis it really an issue?

Finally, could I buy a 24 or 30 KW leaf and just upgrade the battery? is there someone in the UK who does this?

I can't find any company or person who does this and am led to believe that only Nissan will do it.

Thank you for your support!

·
Registered
4,098 Posts
At the moment it's not economically viable to refurbish the batteries of old EVs as a new car is a more economic proposition. Instead, as range reduces they are sold from the people who want to have the capability of doing high daily mileages to those with ambitions to go shorter distances.
If you were buying a new ICE would you be looking into the cost of replacing the engine? Presumably any such analysis would be based on a bloke down the pub saying he rebuilt the engine of his Cortina for £100 rather than discovering that a replacement engine for a Mini is around £6,000 (yes, really). Would you bother replacing the engine in a 10 year old Mini at that cost? And all of that is before you get onto the subject of how much power an ICE loses as it ages and how its emissions go through the roof.