Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks,

forum newbie here. I’m contemplating buying a Nissan Leaf under the current Nissan UK offer, which is up to £2000 dealer contribution and £3500 government contribution - the dealer contribution only applies if you trade in a vehicle that was registered before 20th Dec 2012. The car has to be ordered and registered before 31st March 2020.

I have a qualifying vehicle to trade in, and I’m interested in either a Leaf Accenta or an N-Connecta.

I’m interested to know if anyone has any experience of this deal or have purchased a Leaf recently. The reason I ask is that the basic finance calculator on their website only applies £1000 contribution from the dealer, not £2000 (which is contrary to the T&Cs on the website).

I’ve spent the last few weeks doing all the relevant research on Leafs, so I’m pretty much up to speed on everything else I need to know - and will be test driving one tomorrow (Sat 18th).

Any intel on the financials would be very helpful.

Best,

CDC

·
Registered
321 Posts
What's the actual 'deal'. Bear in mind most manufacturer trade in schemes are just a method to drive more sales. Go into it with your eyes wide open and aware there are a lot more models coming onto the market in the next 24 months.

They won't tell you what you'd expect to sell it for in 12 months time. answers on a postcard...? You could (independently) get a PCP quote for the same car and find out what the GFV would be after 3 years. That would be due diligence that I would obtain, even as a cash buyer. Or look at PCH where you don't even care about the future value of the car, and aim to track/beat the depreciation.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #3