Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 68 Posts

·
Registered
Kia e-Niro MY20 64 kWh - Gravity Blue
819 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've had my car for a year and have done some 13k km with it (8k miles). I am a relaxed driver and don't do fast accelerations or high speed motorway.

Even though the tyres are not worn, the front tyres have visibly a lot less profile on them than the rear tyres. I have not measured the depth, but I do not think I would see this much difference on any other car I had. My previous car was a Skoda Octavia and the front tyres on that one lasted me some 70k km. The way it's looking the Primacy 3 on my e-Niro will last maybe 25k or 30k km max. Does that sound reasonable? It's quite on the low end for me.

·
Registered
LEAF N-TEC 62KW
2,928 Posts
EVs are heavy and produce a lot of torque from zero mph so the driven wheels' tyres will wear more quickly - it's normal.
The rear Dunlops on my Leaf are less than 1/2 worn after 11k miles but the Primacy 4's on the front are half worn after 5k miles. I'll be happy to get 10k miles.

·
Registered
463 Posts
The e-Niro is a heavy car and I imagine much heavier than the Skoda so I think the wear on any tyre is bound to be more. I don't think I would be disappointed with 30,000 km (presumably about 20,000 miles) on the front tyres. You can, of course, even the wear by following Kia's recommendation of swapping the tyres back to front every 6,000 miles (presumably 9,000 kilometres).

·
Registered
LEAF N-TEC 62KW
2,928 Posts
The e-Niro is a heavy car and I imagine much heavier than the Skoda so I think the wear on any tyre is bound to be more. I don't think I would be disappointed with 30,000 km (presumably about 20,000 miles) on the front tyres. You can, of course, even the wear by following Kia's recommendation of swapping the tyres back to front every 6,000 miles (presumably 9,000 kilometres).