Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm new to the EV community. I'm just about to purchase a year-old C350e Estate Premium+ for low mileage inner city driving. My commute to work is under 5 miles each way. I live in a Victorian Grade II listed building with resident off-street communal parking. I'm one of the directors of the freehold and some residents want to explore the option of installing a 2-socket charger between 2 resident parking bays. I have some questions that I can't find the answers to online. Hopefully someone in this forum can help answer them:

1. Can a home charger be installed in such a way that limits access to a few access cards? Our parking spaces are freely accessible from a busy London street and we wouldn't want non-permit holders to start using it.

2. Is it possible to install a home charger outside a listed building? As long as the charger is not installed on the facade of the listed building I believe it should be fine? I reckon it will have to be a floor standing unit on the road surface.

3. As multiple residents will be charging, it it possible to keep track of how much electricity each access card is using? A smart meter from the mains wouldn't work for multiple users.

Thanks in advance!

·
Zoe Devotee
7,616 Posts
I would say the life of EV is not for you. Buy that's just my opinion.

·
Premium Member
2,558 Posts
Stepping over the above for a minute, welcome to the forum, and well done for getting off your backside and doing something to help local air quality. You'll notice that not everybody is fond of plug in hybrid electric vehicles though.