Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I'm about to buy an e-niro and I'm trying to find some info on the available options on the market for chargers.
I already have an old 3kW Pod point which I've been using for 8 years with my faithful Prius Phev. Now at that time it was just a matter of "does the plug fit? Good to go!".
Now I need a 7kW charger but what else can I choose from? WiFi fair enough... Timers? I thought the cars were doing all the heavy lifting if setup correctly...
If it helps I'm in the middle of switching to Octopus Go, no smart meter yet. I'm assuming they'll provide me with one...
Which other options do I have in front of me? Is there a recent guide somewhere I can study from?

TIA.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

·
Registered
Ioniq 38kwh 2020
608 Posts
Hello, I'm about to buy an e-niro and I'm trying to find some info on the available options on the market for chargers.
I already have an old 3kW Pod point which I've been using for 8 years with my faithful Prius Phev. Now at that time it was just a matter of "does the plug fit? Good to go!".
Now I need a 7kW charger but what else can I choose from? WiFi fair enough... Timers? I thought the cars were doing all the heavy lifting if setup correctly...
If it helps I'm in the middle of switching to Octopus Go, no smart meter yet. I'm assuming they'll provide me with one...
Which other options do I have in front of me? Is there a recent guide somewhere I can study from?

TIA.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
I suppose your options could also be decided by how your current one is currently wired in. ie is the wiring and CU / RCD capable of a 7kW charger? If so it could be a relatively easy swap. If not then you are basically looking at a new install, presumably with the grant. I think in order to qualify for the grant the charger has to be "smart" capable.

·
Registered
ID3 1st & e-Golf
5,850 Posts