Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
196 Posts
@andyswarbs : Same here, really interested in your experiences! Great sharing!

We kept an ICE for long distance travel. As in places like France you can run out of charge before getting even in range of a charger. The result is a bit frustrating. The ICE is a lot costlier to own and maintain than the EV. We do 95+% of our rides with the EV. The ICE collects dust on the driveway. I studied the possibility of renting an ICE when needed. But that is not cheaper and the availability is of course not there when you want one... but one thing seems pretty clear at this time: when the old ICE is dead, we won't replace it with an ICE. The ICE being a Merc, it may last for a while though...

·
Registered
196 Posts
I drove a Renault Zoe on Madeira last winter. It takes Mennekes Type 2 and 22kW AC charging. Wonderful experience.

The Chademos are fading away in Europe. Not sure what brands take Chademo in Europe. Nissan for sure. Currently Chademo is the only one doing V2G. CCS has no V2G yet. And while it sounds like a good idea, I doubt it makes a lot of sense with the current batteries as they would degrade a lot faster and car manufacturers may dissist the battery warranty. Efficiency and grid balancing is currently best served with charging during suntime at the work location. Let us do that first. Conclusion: Chademo has no strong selling point, all EV manufacturers are going to CCS, even Tesla.

·
Registered
196 Posts
I've looked a bit further on Chademo. France is withdrawing the mandatory requirement for new chargers to have Chademo. Nissan's new cars, like the Ariya, for sales in EU are CCS! So it seems owners of Chademo ported EVs will soon have to buy an adapter... Not so in the US, where the new 2023 Leaf still has Chademo. That is probably a reflection of US being more "liberal" and not pushing for standardization as much as EU is doing ...

·
Registered
196 Posts