Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
757 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Chargemaster wall unit and BMW i3 both about 18 months old. I haven't been using the car much but every couple of weeks I set the charger to use the off-peak rate. Twice the supply has tripped during the night after about 30% charging (say, 1 - 2 hours). The trip is the 32 A breaker which was fitted by Chargemaster alongside the earth leakage breaker in my main fuse box (so no other supplies connected). I am trying to understand if the car is taking too much current or whether the 32 A circuit breaker is faulty (which seems a bit unlikely?). Any suggestions or advice would be most welcome.

(Note: after the first incident I posted in the BMW i3 forum but wrongly suggest that it was the earth leakage breaker - I didn't look closely enough).

·
Registered
757 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
UPDATE:

I hadn't realised that Chargemaster has a 3 year warranty. Very helpful discussion the outcome of which is that it is extremely unlikely that the breaker is faulty, ditto the car. They can do some checks remotely then will probably swap out the unit. My post a bit premature!

·
Registered
4,916 Posts
Probably the MCB. They are largely thermal devices.
After 18 months it may be running a bit warmer due to contact aging or a slightly less tight connection - checking the latter is easy enough to do.
Add the warm weather and its effectively getting a bit derated and thus not handling 32A continuously. Is the consumer unit in a warm location?

·
Registered
4,916 Posts
UPDATE:

I hadn't realised that Chargemaster has a 3 year warranty. Very helpful discussion the outcome of which is that it is extremely unlikely that the breaker is faulty, ditto the car. They can do some checks remotely then will probably swap out the unit. My post a bit premature!
Cross posted with my first above.