Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone think it would be a good idea for the various owners groups to get together and try and agree a common etiquette we could all share?

I'm thinking of things like the following:
- Not hogging a slow charger when a better alternative exists nearby
- Talking to people queuing to see if their need is greater than yours
- If you are leaving the car, maybe leaving a note with your number so people could call if they really need it

There would be some differences between makes, but the general principles should be sound. If the owners groups got together, they would probably learn some things from each other, and they could then let all new owners know.

I'm new to this, so shoot me down if you think it is impractical, or has been discussed ad nauseum before.

Obviously there will be some people who either wouldn't see it, or are selfish enough to think it didn't apply to them, but better co-ordination/education has got to be better, surely?

·
Registered
1,899 Posts
Who's going to be the first to mention PHEVs? :LOL:

Sorry @Nigel Baker there's a long standing tradition that when talking about charger etiquette, someone will mention PHEVs on rapids and it'll turn into a small scale nuclear war flame fest.
I tend to follow the simple "Don't be a dick" protocol. At least I think I do :)

·
Registered
1,269 Posts
It's simple:
- On 50kW+ DC rapid or faster chargers, return to the car before charging speed tapers (usually above 60%, depend on battery), move car away as soon as you have required charge. Treat it like petrol station.
- AC destination charging is first come first serve, doesn't matter type of car and don't need to move the car. Treat it like a car park.