Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
From those with experience of the car (First Edition or 4), how is the paint ?
Is it worth getting paint protection applied to it?

I wouldn't get it from the dealer, but still wondering whether it is worth it...

·
Registered
2,290 Posts
Didn't do mine. One or two very minor and unlucky chips on bonnet but other than that, it seems to be holding up pretty well so far. I just keep it clean, clay or polish out any crap and give it some wax when it needs waterproofing again.

·
Registered
71 Posts
From a dealer, no. Never. I ask them not to even wash a car. They’ve just not got the time to be meticulous.

From a detailer, possibly. This can get pricey but worth it.

DIY, well that’s what I’ve been doing since 2007. I read up on Supagard and decided to spend a few quid on decent kit instead. With some of the ceramic/quartz coatings available now, it’s very easy to put durable coatings on your car. Downside is that I have to do this on both cars we own, and I’ll never visit a car wash again.

·
Premium Member
204 Posts
There are two main forms of Paint Protection.

A PPF wrap. This lasts 3 years and is plastic clear (but you can have any colour or pattern) and can self repair. Costs are high if you want it well done and the whole car, hence why some people only get the front bumper/bonnet done. Get it professionally applied - so many horror stories about people getting cheap wraps, just google it.

A Ceramic Coating. This can last up to 7 years depending on the make of the coating. If applied by a professional you will get a warranty too. I've had Gtechniq applied to two of my cars. It makes it dead easy to wash, protects against pigeon shit better, and makes the car paint really pop! Cheaper than PPF by a lot. Downside is that it only improves chip protection by a fraction if at all, compared to PPF.