Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Idea: Renting out your private charging spot (i.e. your driveway) when you want and anyone on the network could use it to charge up and you get paid for it (all done via an app). Do you think something like this could work? I'm an app developer and have been toying with the idea. I don't actually own an EV yet - I wanted to buy an i3 a few months back but I live in a high rise and don't have many places near me to charge, hence me thinking of this idea (got a Golf instead). If I did have an EV (something with 200+ miles) then I'd probably only need to charge up a night or two a month so fast charging isn't really needed. I know things can get a little complicated with this idea but I think if done well it could potentially work. What do you think?

·
Registered
11,295 Posts
Think about the sort of person that’s willing to leave their car in your drive for 8-12 hours.

Then ask yourself why they don’t have a home chargepoint. Or why they live within walking distance of your house.

·
Registered
1,577 Posts
I wouldn't do it (either way), but I'm constantly surprised at what other people will do for a couple of quid 'profit'.

However, the chances of a suitable pair of current EV owners living close enough seems low, and once it gets high enough to work public charging will probably make it unnecessary. But in the interim it's probably worth putting some time into - but not your life savings.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks @Rugbyleague! still just testing out the idea to get peoples honest thoughts. @cah197 living in London, it isn't always easy to live somewhere where you can easily have a home chargepoint installed - when you say think about that sort of person, what comes to mind for you? Do you consider it fishy/untrustworthy?

·
Registered
29 Posts