Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Banned
2,420 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know there are some claims that the car can achieve improved power but from what i have seen this seems dubious. However the Cadilac ELR has the same Voltec unit and produces significantly more power. Has anyone considered hooking up the edu of an ELR to their Volt to see if there is any power difference. Or better still pulling the maps and adapting accordingly to work properly on the Volt? I am not a software engineer so i wouldn't be able to do this but i would love to see more power from the system if it is possible without significant risk or range reduction.

·
Registered
3,462 Posts
I'd like more of the battery power freeing up...and worry about it's lifespan years later! But then again, I'm unlikely to because I rarely keep cars longer than 2 years.

·
Registered
3,154 Posts
In theory it might be possible to put an ECU from an ELR into a Volt or Ampera, but these days the ECUs are paired with the vehicle systems in the same way you might pair a phone with your car audio - in other words it simply wouldn't function. I'm not saying that's definitely the case here but it could be.
You also have to take into account that if the ELR is running higher power outputs, it will have various other parts upgraded too - particularly the cables and cooling systems. Without having everything upgraded, you are likely to very quickly start a fire.
Somebody has done an ECU hack to get from 0-60 in 5.5s but basically you can guarantee you'll fry your electrics after a while and forget your warranty...

·
Banned
2,420 Posts
Discussion Starter #4