Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
248 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I bought a 2011 Peugeot iOn with 39000 miles on the clock from a fellow Speakev user yesterday. While its main use wiIl be as a second family car for a 16 mile round trip commute and ferrying about young people (therefore range is not that important from day to day), I had to collect it from Doncaster and drive it back home to Glasgow (around 250 miles). Since there may be an interest in the range and usability of a 9-year-old small EV of this kind, I thought I would summarise the experience which was, overall:

• about what I expected in terms of realistic range at motorway speeds
  • slightly better than expected in repeat rapid charging - the rate of charge seemed to hold up and I was not aware of battery heat being an issue (albeit it was wintry and the iOn doesn't actually have a battery temperature gauge).
I am a fairly experienced EV driver having had a Leaf24 since 2015. I don't think this journey would have been possible in 2015 because the rapid charging networks now are simply far more comprehensive than they were then.

I left Doncaster at 2pm and reached Glasgow at 10.40pm therefore this was hardly a fast journey but, thanks to Zap Map user comments and the availability of double rapid charge units at 20-40 mile intervals most of the way, at no point did I fear not making it.

While the stormy conditions yesterday were not nice, the southerly wind was in my favour from the point where I reached the M6 onwards. I had the air on but not the heating, to save electricity. This made it a cold experience aided only by cups of tea.

Leaving Doncaster with 100% battery, stops:
  • Instavolt Leeds York Road Halfords (arr 30%, dep 60%)
  • Instavolt Ilkley Booths (arr 30%, dep 73% ish, battery seemed to cut off at that stage)
  • Engie near Settle (unplanned - just a few minutes top up to ensure I reached Kirkby Lonsdale without a problem)