Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all

I'm new to the EV game and I'd settled on a pod-point for my home charger. We have a garage that's attached to the house, but is some distance from the main consumer unit and meter. The garage has a secondary consumer unit with room for the charger. I've sent my pictures to Pod Point and they say the following:

"We require for the garage fuse board to either by under a type A RCD protection or not RCD protected at all.

The current RCD protection on your garage fuse board is a type AC.

We will please need from you to change the RCD protection to a type A or to move one of the free MCB to a non RCD protected side of the garage fuse board. "

I've attached a picture of the secondary fuse board. A quick google confirms that the RCD is indeed AC. Can anyone advise what I need? Can i simply replace the RCD with a Wylex type A one into the existing board, or do I need a whole new unit? Is it a simple, DIY job or something best left to a professional?

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help.

Cheers
MR M

·
Registered
4,641 Posts
Bit of a hodge podge of different MCBs in that board, too, some pretty old. Easy job to get the RCD changed to one of these: https://cpc.farnell.com/wylex/gb6-wrds100-2/2p-30ma-100a-dc-type-a-rcd/dp/PL16214 but frankly I would also have a look at tidying up that board at the same time, a couple of new, matching (from a type approval perspective) NHXB16 MCBs to replace those ancient NSB16s would only cost about a fiver for the pair.