Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,
First time poster here, hello!

I'm currently not an EV owner or driver; I really want one but currently can't yet afford one. So yes, I'm a filthy ICE driver (especially filthy; it's a Euro 3 diesel!). Don't worry, I respect the parking spaces near the chargers!

My father currently drives a Leaf gen2, but being 230 miles away, he has only brought it once, but now prefers to take my mum's diesel A3; the battery range just isn't enough for him. However, he's ordered the new Hyundai which'll have a fairly hefty battery and therefore should be able to make the journey either non-stop or with a short-ish charge on a rapid to make sure he arrives with a bit of power spare. He normally pops up to see the rugby locally, so the car's only here for an overnight & he sets off after breakfast the next day, so there's only around 12-14 hours that the car's parked.

Running the numbers, the 13A socket chargers probably wouldn't have enough time to complete a charge from ~10% to 100% in that time. So we need something more powerful. Fortunately my garage is where the main 100A incomer & consumer unit is, so getting plenty of amps is theoretically pretty easy.

However, it seems the wall mounted chargers (rolec etc) are fairly expensive, and also quite inflexible - they're installed permanently. Plus since I don't myself own an EV, I don't think I qualify for any grants or similar stuff.

I was thinking, for when I eventually own an EV, I often drive to places which don't have EV charging but which do have 16A and 32A commando outlets. So would it be sensible for me to get a 32A single phase commando/cee outlet installed, then get something like this Knons 32A portable charger: