Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone.

I have just signed up on here and thought I should introduce myself.

I have been driving a standard Prius (GEN 3 T4) for the last 22 months and averaging 60.5 to the gallon with a mixture of motorway and town driving. My car is due for a MOT in October but has just over 2 years left on the warranty so I am in no rush to change it.

I'm averaging about 22,000 miles per year with my main journey of approx 100 miles each way to HQ that I do about once or twice a week and then journeys all over the country on an adhoc basis and then some weeks pottering around the local area doing no more that 15-20 miles per day.

The Prius suits me at the moment but I would prefer to have something more EV but I'm not sure what - one of the reasons I have signed up on here

The other issue I have is that I can see myself moving in about 3 years nearer into London where there will only be on-street parking (and parking outside your house will be a blue moon experience) and I'm wondering how you can charge your EV when you don't have a home 'base' to do the overnight charge

Thanks for reading

Tim

·
Registered
7,249 Posts
Hi Tim and welcome.

Charging an EV when you don't have off-street parking is difficult right now but depending on where you live it is sometimes not totally impossible. If you get a car with rapid charging, such as CHaDeMo 50KW DC ( e.g. Nissan Leaf) then if you live near a rapid charger you could charge there but it is inconvenient. On-street charging is one of the biggest problems with EVs right now and there is no real solution currently. That is one reason why I think that plug-in hybrids such as the Ampera or Volt will become popular over the next few years.

If there is anyone on the forum with experience of regular on-street parking at home please post your experiences.