Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I am new to using pubic chargers. I've had our 40kWh Nissan Leaf since December 2021, but only needed to use public chargers for a first long trip last weekend.

I managed to figure how to use the various charger types without any help, but that's not the part of the experience that's left me curious.

I noticed that there were some users ahead of me who set up their charge and walked away, presumably to monitor charge progress on their phone while they have a coffee. Some hung around the charging station and were very willing to chat about their trip, their EV experience, and how much they were charging to right now. Some were more than willing to curtail their charge target once they knew where you were going and how much you would need to charge after they had completed ahead of you. Only one guy (local to the charger, who I figured had a deal where he could charge for free) was unwilling to shorten his charge even though I was low and on a long journey.

The whole experience of public charging felt like what I recall it was like when smokers would gather outside a pub for a ***; friendly and accommodating.

So my question then: when it comes to public charging, is there an accepted etiquette to the process whereby (most) users will discuss their needs and experiences, and will often agree how much to charge to if the charger is busy, and/or agree who should go next if it's busy and someone is in a rush or has a long trip ahead of them?

John

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Hello all,

I am new to using pubic chargers. I've had our 40kWh Nissan Leaf since December 2021, but only needed to use public chargers for a first long trip last weekend.

I managed to figure how to use the various charger types without any help, but that's not the part of the experience that's left me curious.