Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
229 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Most chargers in my area seem to be working but most of them don't have my fitting (ampere) so I have to wait till I get home to charge up. can you get an adapter like the Tesler one to convert the plug from 7 pin to 5 pin? I am not an electrician but looking at the plugs and sockets available you could get a small electrical box fit a plug and socket to it to convert from one to the other, the problem is the price of the plug/sockets as to if its worth the cost or charge it at home.

·
Banned
3,715 Posts
Sorry I mean the big rapid charge connection (gun)
If it's the CHAdeMO connector (see below) then it's DC and electrically incompatible with your car.

image.jpg

If it's the CCS connector (see below) then it's DC and electrically incompatible with your car.

image.jpg

If it's the Type 2 tethered connector (see below) then it's AC and it would be possible to modify a Type 2 to Type 1 cable and plug it in.

However, if a Leaf driver finds you charging at 3kW on a rapid charger they will be more than a little upset (possibly life threatening) ;)

image.jpg

·
Registered
229 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
If it's the CHAdeMO connector (see below) then it's DC and electrically incompatible with your car.

View attachment 1060

If it's the CCS connector (see below) then it's DC and electrically incompatible with your car.

View attachment 1061

If it's the Type 2 tethered connector (see below) then it's AC and it would be possible to modify a Type 2 to Type 1 cable and plug it in.

However, if a Leaf driver finds you charging at 3kW on a rapid charger they will be more than a little upset (possibly life threatening) ;)

View attachment 1062
Yes I understand the different types plugs I was just pointing out the types that are or are not fitted at different stations and I was referring to the possibility of a 7 pin to a 5 pin adapter. not D.C.

·
Registered
2,155 Posts