Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
295 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So just got my Nissan Leaf, only really charge at home via my British Gas / Polar charging unit.

I have my ChargeMaster card but it would seem that the vast majority of these public points are in car parks, which means if you want to charge you have to pay for parking, I'm looking for 100% free charging!

Are there charging stations / posts not in car parks? Thus you don't have to pay anything?

Thanks
P.S also have my Ecotricity card, are there any other charging cards I should register for?

·
Registered
8,106 Posts
I think you may have just been lucky Paul or is it a feature of car parks around Milton Keynes not to charge for parking?

Everywhere I have charged where it was in a non-free car park I have had to pay for parking.

If you want totally free charging (and who doesn't :) ) then look for charging stations at supermarkets, Little Chefs, may be park and rides (may have to buy a bus ticket :) ), pubs. Basically places where you wouldn't expect to pay for parking anyway.

Having said that... if you are getting free charging why would you expect free parking also?

You may have to pay for parking at some IKEA Ecotricity rapid chargers too BTW. I know that not all of them charge for parking but I know that some do.

What other cards you need depends on where you are driving. For London then a Source London card will help. Anywhere else you will have to check for that particular area. It can even go down to a particular town.

·
Ampera aka IGOR
3,435 Posts
I have four cards.
Chargemaster - which I use when shopping at Asda in Perth or Forfar
Charge Your Car - used in the Park & Ride car parks around my area and one car park in Perth though not sure if it includes free parking or not as they are not yet 'live' though I have used it once.
Ecotricity - not used yet, but was free so thought it was better to have just in case.