Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
225 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I was thrilled to find a recent article that explores a hyper-mile technique they are calling "pulse and glide." You can find it easily enough with Google if you wish to learn more. "Can Pulse and Glide work to Improve Electric vehicle highway range" I have been doing this for a few years now. Pulse and glide is just that- you pulse up to speed and then pull back the throttle a little and glide or, coast as long as possible without getting deep into regeneration which would constitute a loss of inertia. I built an automatic timer to low frequency pulse modulate the throttle. I did this to prevent the negative effects of voltage sag. This allows the car to accelerate in pulses (3.5 second) and gives the battery a 1 second rest every 3.5 seconds. There is a brief recovery of the voltage and the current has dropped significantly lower at cruise speed of 60mph. The timer can pull back the throttle as much as 25% or less depending on the throttle position. I swear that this is working well in my car despite screams from many that I am violating the laws of physics or the laws of thermodynamics. Hyper-mile techniques apply well to any vehicle with or without circuits to automate them. I think we need to explore all methods that will help our cars go the distance. Many of these techniques are unconventional but, so is the electric car. I am one of those freaks that converted his own car to electric just so I could experiment and explore all of the possibilities. For anyone who thinks that resting the battery for 1 second is not very long, well, it amounts to ~13 minuets in a 1 hour period of driving. The seconds add up to a very big savings in terms of time and energy. It means that for almost 1/4 of the time on the road, the car is coasting instead of guzzling energy. I named my circuit the "Pot box Manipulator / Performance Enhancer." Others called it "snake o