Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Mike,

I'm new to EVs and I wanted to ask - how much range could you add to a env200? Could you add some cells to make it 30kwh or even 50kwh? And a ball park figure to do such a thing?
Many thanks in advance

·
Registered
2,976 Posts
FWIW I'm sizing a Leaf-module battery for an electric motorbike. 12 Leaf Modules will give me about 90V and 5.8 kWh nominal (probably more like 4kWh useable). This is 1/4 of a Leaf Battery out of a 24 kWh car, and will weigh 46 Kg.

These Modules have 4 Cells in , each cell is 3.75V appx, arranged as 2 in series, paralleled with 2 in series, so appx 7.5V out. Cells can be rewired, so I could get myself 180V if I really wanted; if your EV wants something like 360V, then you could possibly have 1/2 a Leaf battery to give you extra 12 kWh (appr 10 useable?), but half the current out as compared to a Leaf because you lost the parallellism, weighing about 92Kg + some more Kg steel chassis/cables/controller etc. So the added horsepower would be at most 1/2 that of a Leaf - but probably very welcome! How much weight can you take? :unsure:

·
Registered
1,907 Posts
Easiest thing to do is double the capacity using another pack so you would have 48kwh total. I think we'd be somewhere around £7-8k for 48kwh. To include battery enclosures, battery management and.integration with the existing systems

Weight is a big consideration. Is yourvan still usable with 350kg taken off its payload?

From a technical perspective. The voltages and charge profiles must match. You could do a half pack (12kwh) but its alot more involved as each of the modules would need to be split.

Hope this helps.

Mike

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks guys

So Mike you reckon the extra 24kwh battery + bits and bobs weight an extra 350kg? Wow! What about space - would there still be space under the floor to fit all that or would it need to go in the van?