Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've decided to buy an electric car, and Renault Zoe (the upcoming model with longer range) seems to me the most promising one (enough range to an enough low price). But I have no experience of electric cars (not even been sitting in one once), so could you with more experience help me a bit?

So let me tell you a bit about my situation. I live in an apartment in one city without the ability to charge it there. I work in another city 35 km away (the speed limit is 100 km/h) which I go to every weekday, and I can charge it there while I work. When I get back home from work I sometimes go to another city which is 80 km away from where I live.

Question 1. Charging strategy
I can only charge it daytime weekdays at work. Will this be bad for the battery? Some of my thoughts:
  • At nights it will always be parked outside my apartment without charging. Is that bad? In the winter it might be -20 degrees Celsius. Will that drain the battery a lot?
  • When I come back home after work I go to that other town 80km away and then back home again. After that I guess the battery is far from full. Is it still OK to let it be parked during the night without charging it until I arrive at work the next day? Or will that be bad for the battery? Especially during a night with -20 degrees Celsius?
  • At weekends I might drive a longer distance on Saturday (get quite empty battery), and then it will be parked without charging the entire Sunday, and then I'll charge it at work on Monday. Is that bad?
Question 2. Leasing VS Buying the battery
I drive quite a lot, so to me it was obvious that it would be cheaper for me in the long run to buy the battery. But a car dealer I spoke with rather recommended me to lease the battery because I drove that much (he said the battery would get so bad with time). What do you think is best?

Thanks for you input!

·
Co-author of CanZE. Q210 nov 2013