Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
527 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
.... or lack of.

I am no designer so have no answer. But surely the professional EV designers could have come up with something better than a plastic blanking plate?

I just saw the 2021 Volvo XC40 on another thread, and I immediately winced. There are others available to wince at.

And the Tesla type option looks like a gaping wound that has been pulled together and stitched up.

Totally subjective, but there must be something better?

·
Registered
5,086 Posts
Agreed. EVs need a radiator, as there are cooling oils circulating round the motor, let alone what's in the battery & possibly cooling the motor H-bridge controllers etc. Something aerodynamic, like the nose-cone of the Jag E-Types maybe? They need to decorate construction, not construct decoration! As a famous architect once said...

·
Registered
Kia Soul EV 2020
2,866 Posts
Aerodynamics?

A radiator grill is only necessary in an ICE car to manage excess heat generated from burning dyno juice.

In an EV the radiator is not even in the top 5 design priorities, so this changes the equation and aerodynamics take over. And a big gaping hole in the front is not a very aerodynamic shape.

·
Registered
1,212 Posts
a % of a %, they could add for the same grill for about 2 miles range
...and/or they could have made the EV option good looking and other versions fugly but they didn't!
Funny choice if it was a model they were betting their future on no?
They still haven't quite given in yet....

·
Registered
2017 Golf GTE
3,034 Posts
a % of a %, they could add for the same grill for about 2 miles range
...and/or they could have made the EV option good looking and other versions fugly but they didn't!
Funny choice if it was a model they were betting their future on no?
They still haven't quite given in yet....
Take a look at an ID3.

Seems to have quite a low Cd too.

·
Registered
1,212 Posts
Take a look at an ID3.