Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
244 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am contemplating upgrading from a Leaf24 to a Leaf40.

As an experienced Leaf driver I already know;
  • the GOM is nonsense
  • the WLTP etc are all nonsense
  • and that in reality you never want to drive right down to 0% as you will need a flatbed if the range anxiety hasn't given you a heart attack first.
I have seen people here saying that realistic motorway range is about 90-120 miles between rapid charges but my question is, if driven at 55pmh on a steady motorway in the most efficient mode, and if theoretically driven from 100 to zero, in typical British weather (light drizzle and temp between 10C and 20C) how far does a Lead 40 go?

·
Registered
4,079 Posts
The new capacity is 37.5kWh, just multiply that by the relevant consumption rate for your existing car (about 4m/kWh) so something in the order of 150 miles to Turtle. But it's speed and weather dependent as you know, so rely only on 100 in the depths of a cold, wet, winter.

·
Registered
3,101 Posts

• the GOM is nonsense
  • and that in reality you never want to drive right down to 0% as you will need a flatbed if the range anxiety hasn't given you a heart attack first.
I have seen people here saying that realistic motorway range is about 90-120 miles between rapid charges but my question is, if driven at 55pmh on a steady motorway in the most efficient mode, and if theoretically driven from 100 to zero, in typical British weather (light drizzle and temp between 10C and 20C) how far does a Lead 40 go?
The Gom is better but still inaccurate. Always better using percent.
The NEDC was complete pie in the sky, the WLTP is achievable in the right conditions.
At 55mph you would die of boredom before running out of electrons.
But in answer 120 miles easily, 140 more probably.
That's just using my m/kWh I can achieve I have never actually done it.