Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I'm new to a LEAF 30kw and to this forum so would love some collective advice please on whether I should be worried about the range we just had on a longer journey- bascially we didnt manage a 74 mile journey.

We just bought a 2017 30kw LEAF with just under 6000 miles. It has 12 bars of battery but we dont have a dongle yet so I dont know the exact SOH (dongle purchase is next!- few EV cars near us and due to other car issues we needed the car asap). We were intending to use it as the main car for mainly short commute journeys with our second car being an ICE but that car is now in the garage so after a week of owning it we needed to use it for a longer journey.

We charged the battery fully before we left and it said (I think) 119 miles range but our journey was 74 miles and the range counter went down much quicker than we expected, so much so that with 15 miles left to travel the range said 18 miles so we panicked and had to stop at a 7kw charger to top up a bit to ensure we would get the last few miles. I'm not sure of the exact figures on the return journey as we stopped part way to do a rapid charge as it was clear from the outward leg it would be tight/rather stressful but again it didnt look like it would have managed the full journey.