Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 108 Posts

·
Registered
685 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I've got a Tesla Model 3 and my wife has a Citroen C3.

Now I've been mulling over this for a few years what we should get for her next car.

We obviously want to go EV after seeing the massive difference in running costs since I switched from a BMW 330e. But the reason we haven't done it yet and probably can't even right now either is that getting an acceptable range under around £25,000 even on the second-hand market is very difficult.

I think the only thing that comes close is probably the Renault Zoe and she doesn't like that, I think she would like something bigger.

We're moving to somewhere that's around 100 miles (mostly motorway miles) from her parents so we really need something that can very comfortably do the 200-mile round trip in the winter.

Even my SR+ Model 3 could struggle to do that in the winter without stopping but the added security of the supercharger network, if needed, would make that a good choice (if it was about £15k-£20k cheaper).

I have even started this morning only considering looking at plug-in hybrids :eek:

Would rather not go down that route but if it ends up saving money for a few more years while we wait for something like Tesla Model A or maybe a second-hand Hyundai Ioniq 5 to come down in price perhaps that could be a solution?

I suppose the ID3 could be a decent option on the second-hand market in a year or so but it's a little small and the interface, touch-sensitive buttons, and stuff are a bit off-putting, sorry ID owners.

Any suggestions?:)

·
Registered
Kia e-Niro MY20 64 kWh - Gravity Blue
819 Posts
I don't think an ID3 is smaller than a C3 so maybe you'd have to look at it a bit closer. The interface, you may be right.