Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone. This is my first time posting here, but I’ve found looking through threads on this site useful, so I really hope you can help with this query.
I have an eNV-200 which I use for work. There are three of us in the family, so I could really do with having a seat installed in the back which comes out again easily when necessary. There is also a bulkhead in the van which would need to be modified. Ideally, the seat would fold down so it could be carried without taking up too much room.
I’ve really struggled to find someone who is willing to do this work. Everyone is happy to fit a window in the door, but no one seems to want to take on this other work.
Can anyone recommend a garage near-ish to the Peak District I can take my van to for this? Many thanks in advance, Finbarr.

·
Registered
130 Posts
Hi there , I am a qualified campervan fitter and can fit a rear seat for you , however I can’t sign anything off . I live in baslow in the Peak District. A picture shows you a seat with integral belts and you can remove the seat as it’s on rails . Regards dan

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That’s great dan thanks! Is signing it off something I could find someone else to do? It’s all new to me, forgive me if I’m being dense.

·
I'm not crazy, the attack has begun.
27,697 Posts
AFAIK you can fit a seat which has been homologated for M1/N1 use by declaring competency, or the person you fit it does, but it is entirely up to your insurance company if they accept that. You state "..[the modification]..." and make its provenance clear, and they say yes or no.

If that is not true for some reason, then someone better tell me because that's exactly what I have done by adding an extra seat to the wheel chair van I use sometimes. DVLA and the insurance company didn't bat an eyelid over it.