Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, whist dancing around getting the dealer to change the battery on my Zoe, they gave me this feedback on some service documentation.

I would be interested to know what the safety factor actually is, because I charge it every day/night via the "granny lead". And actually, I figure trickle charging the battery every night will be less stressful of the cells than any form of rapid or fast charge (we have 22kw at work).

UPDATE: Sorry, meant to circle the item. But it was their concern about using the "Emergency Charger"

Attachments

·
Registered
1,724 Posts
OK, as a Leaf driver I'd guess:
- manufacturers don't like people charging from a 13 amp socket as they regard it possible that you'll plug into an old dirty socket and the plug/socket will overheat. If the socket is good quality and clean, then it should be fine. Make sure that plug is removed from the socket frequently to 'wipe' the contacts. Ditto with their phobia about using extension leads, which is also fine (subject to the quality of the extension etc).
- the long time to charge at the end is most probably cell balancing (going round making sure that each cell is charged to its maximum). Whilst not necessary every time, it does need doing occasionally.
- the range seems improved by an occasional rapid charge

·
Registered
2,120 Posts
Low expected range and that length of cell balancing are all indicating your Zoe would benefit from having the BMS updated.
Fast and rapid charging are not detrimental to Zoe's pack quite the opposite.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
OK, as a Leaf driver I'd guess: