Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 21 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. I'm new to the EV world and need some tips and advice. I am looking to buy a second car, mainly to be used by my wife for town driving or distances upto 50 mile round trip.

We have a baby on the way so need a car which can fit a buggy!
My options are either Renault zoe or Nissan leaf. I'm put off the battery lease option but need some tips from current EV owners.

I've seen a Zoe 2014 model @33000miles selling at £4900. I've also seen a Nissan leaf 2016 30Kwh battery with 45000 miles selling for £8500. I'm wondering if it's worth spending this much for the Leaf? My budget was £7500 but looked up the 30kwh leaf due to range anxiety! I've been told that Zoe 2014 model will get about 60-80miles in winter and about 80 in the summer. Whilst leaf will get closer to 100miles.
Any advice welcome :)

·
Registered
2021 Hyundai Kona Ultimate 64kWh
1,798 Posts
If you get a LEAF30 With a VERY Good battery you might be able to get close to 100 miles on the very warmest days but I think that's a little optimistic these days. At the age they are now getting to, battery degradation will be limiting the performance and real world range will be lower. With that said it may still be worthwhile since you're getting a bigger car, overall bigger battery, faster rapid charging, and something generally more solidly built. You're also avoiding the battery lease which you siad you don't like the idea of.

The Zoe will work out more expensive if you choose to buy the battery for it too. Not to mention that you will be getting a car that's 2 years older and more likely to be needing some kind of repairs. The only thing really going for it is that it has a proper battery cooling system that may help keep it healthier for longer, though you are already starting off with a smaller battery anyways.