Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
16,964 Posts
Yes, believe it or not people are buying second hand Zoes (and other EVs).

If you look at the asking prices, it will give you some idea of the demand.

When was insurance ever high for an EV? I’ve been driving them since 2014.

·
Registered
4,098 Posts
And just put your details into a comparison site to get an idea of the insurance cost. You'll get less quotes but they are not significantly higher than a similar value ICE.

·
Registered
529 Posts
I have bought 2 used Zoes, first was 3 year old with one previous owner, battery lease 22 kwh, second ex-dem ZE40, battery leased. Insurance was very slightly higher than for the 13 year old Renault Scenic it replaced. LV do an EV specific policy. No real problems with either car.

·
Registered
2016 Nissan LEAF SL
1,014 Posts
Depending on your budget and usage, the Zoe may not be the first choice. If you want one of the cheapest EVs, minimal ongoing costs, and you can get by with the degraded battery's limited range you're probably better off with a LEAF perhaps (I Mention this as insurance cost seems to be a concern, so presumably other costs like battery lease may also be something you wish to avoid - Even though you will already be saving on tax, fuel and a bit of maintenance)

To echo what has already been said though, unless you are a very young, very new driver the costs of insurance shouldn't be too high, and the fuel type shouldn't make much difference to the quotes you get. Just find one you're interested in online, run the numbers on a couple of insurance comparison sites (as well as a few who don't list their policies there like Direct Line and Aviva) and you should find a good price.

·
Registered
586 Posts