Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Another "Zoe won't charge" post? Yes I know, I know, there are already many posts like this, but hear me out.

Recently I bought a second-hand Renault Zoe R240. Only 11.000 km, in great condition, reasonable price, it looked like a good deal. The seller even drove the to my driveway (+/- 100km trip) to assure my the car and the battery were fine.
I also own a Nissan Leaf 2018 and I'm planning on building my own charger infrastructure in the future. But for now I just get by comfortably with the supplied EVSE charger. I tried the same with the Zoe, plugged in the Renault-branded EVSE and was greeted with the BCI message and a red light in the nose.

I tough to myself: "No problem, I'm a microelectronics engineer that works for a automotive semiconductor company, I''l have this figured out in no-time...." So here we are, 3 weeks later and I think I'm losing my mind!

So in the meantime I'm well familiar with the Raindance 馃嚬馃嚥 procedure. And indeed when retrying to much the error is more persistent. I wanted to read the OBDII port but my crappy ELM317 dongle was useless, so I build the CANSee dongle and this works marvelous. (@jeroenmeijer, I owe you a beer!)

So let's sum up my findings so far:
1: The Zoe will not charge with EVSE, tried all the suggestions I read on this and other forums.
2: It IS possible to charge with a AC fast-charger. (I'm lucky there is one 25 meters from my driveway)
3: I tried all the other public charging posts in the area, all of them failed the same as EVSE. However, I do not know if these posts are single or 3 phase.
4: I live in a weird part of the world where some (about 30%) households have neutral and earth are not tied together. Neutral is in fact just L2. There is 133Vac between N and Earth and 133Vac between line and earth. (This is a separate issue I'm dealing with with my power company!)