Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
322 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anybody know if it is possible to obtain spares for a Rolec wallcharger? The RCBO breaker in my box has failed (keeps tripping out after a few minutes) and is exhibiting the usual "blackening" around the N terminal mentioned on other threads in the forum. It is a D40 type dual pole breaker with part number ACEQ0185. Double pole, 30mA residual current. I could phone the electrician that installed the box but really wanted to get this replaced before Christmas holidays if possible. Box has been installed for around two years so is probably out of warranty now. I'm not worried about replacing the breaker (I'm an engineer by trade) as long as I can get an exact replacement part or one of matching specification. This has happened before when the box was first installed it had a Type A breaker which was replaced with Type D after tripping problems.

·
Premium Member
2019 Leaf 40
6,606 Posts
It should have a 3 year warranty. I'm not impressed by Rolec and their crappy chargers. Having ones that blacken terminals really isn't good enough.

·
Registered
5,440 Posts
You should absolutely demand that Rolec remedy this. They know about the issue and it's completely their problem. Don't accept anything less than them immediately replacing it for you.

And if it was installed under the OLEV scheme then it has a 3 year warranty.

The most recent version of their RCBO has I believe a green reset button, unlike the blue one on older models, and is supposedly much more reliable.

·
Registered
984 Posts
I changed mine yesterday, 10 min job.

I got this 1 x Garo RCBO 1+N 40A char B 6kA Type A (RCBOGRB40)(A) = £18.00 from Meteor Electrical as recommended on one of the many Rolec threads on this forum.