Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
Leaf 40 and Zoe ZE50
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My wife and I are very new to EV's and definitely long distance travelling in one. We are looking to drive up to Scotland to visit the in-laws - once lockdown restrictions have been relaxed, of course.

We have just taken delivery of a Zoe ZE50 (with Rapid Charging) and appreciate that it will take longer to get up there than it did in our previous ICE car and are expecting at least 4 stops on the way for charging.

This may sound like a very silly question, but will the electric engine be able to cope with a 530 mile journey all in one go?

Your advice would be much appreciated.

·
Registered
78 Posts
The only potential issue is the slow down of charging speed after multiple rapid charges, it's an issue for some cars and not others.

I've no experience with the ZE50, but 'TeslaBjorn' is the best source of real world long distance trip reviews;

Spoiler: It's not an issue. Although with a max charge speed of 45kW the charging stops may become a little tedious!

·
EVEZY code d55d6 *** Try my car cost calculator
1,222 Posts
My wife and I are very new to EV's and definitely long distance travelling in one. We are looking to drive up to Scotland to visit the in-laws - once lockdown restrictions have been relaxed, of course.

We have just taken delivery of a Zoe ZE50 (with Rapid Charging) and appreciate that it will take longer to get up there than it did in our previous ICE car and are expecting at least 4 stops on the way for charging.

This may sound like a very silly question, but will the electric engine be able to cope with a 530 mile journey all in one go?

Your advice would be much appreciated.
Whilst I’ve no experience of the Zoe, I’m 99.999% certain the motor will be absolutely fine.

If you aren’t already familiar with it, familiarise yourself with abetterrouteplanner.com

·
Registered
741 Posts