Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Please help;

I have moved into a new house which has a Rolec 16A Wallpod (type 2 connector) - This is supplied from the mains board via an Emlite ema1.a. I have a brand new BMW 330e.

When the RCD is on at the mains board, the Emlite meter comes on and the Rolec Wallpod flashes with a blue light. I plug my genuine BMW type 2 ("public charging") cable into my car (changed charging to 16A on iDrive) then into the Wallpod. Wallpod light stays solid blue and the car does not recognise any charging power.

Any suggestions? - I'm new to the electric car thing and don't have a clue. The car is charging fine with the 3pin but I wanted to be able to charge faster with the Wallpod.

Thanks,
Adam.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I think I have been sold a 3 phase cable - Guy at BMW said a "rapid" charging cable will be much better and I believe this is a 3 phase? Should I have been sold the normal "fast" charging cable?

·
Registered
Nissan LEAF30
5,885 Posts
That should make no difference - it will be heavier but should work the same on single phase. Are you sure that you have it in the right way around and that it is seating fully at both ends?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Yeah I have been out to it a few times to double check I wasn't being an idiot. So a 3 phase cable won't affect anything if the supply is single phase?

·
Registered
Nissan LEAF30
5,885 Posts
Out of interest - the 330e will only charge at 3.6 kW regardless of single or three phase - why buy a 3 phase lead? I would expect this to be heavier and more expensive.

·
Registered
Nissan LEAF30
5,885 Posts
Ok. So the car will charge now this minute on the granny lead but not on the Wall Box? I would suspect the lead in that case. Have you got a friend with another lead that you can try?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #10 (Edited)