Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Once more i have issues with the Rolec 32amp home charging unit. the unit is very basic it contains a 32amp rcb, a siemens ev controller and a connector module. The fault again is the siemens controller it is causing false handshakes between vechile and unit 2 previous times totally failed. So once more will have to replace it, this will be the third time I will have to replace the Siemens ev controller. On average the controller lasts 10 months before repacement required. I will once again contact the company that is an agent for rolec if they are indeed agents still as last time I spoke to them they were going to drop the rolec unit. Hardly surprising given the unreliabilty of the unit which is a shame as the unit design is quite good except for the Siemens ev controller which is an unreliable part, I have one advantage on talikng about this as I am a qualified electrician and work in an industry where I work with electronics every day. So going forward i will ask for part to be re-supplied as the part was still under warranty. If I can find a different make of controller apart from Siemens i would replace it. So the question is has anyone found a better ev control unit than the siemens which frankly is rubbishh.

·
Registered
1,956 Posts
The Viridian EVSE controller works a treat, and is pretty much a drop-in replacement for what's in a Rolec (I think the only difference is the wiring required for the LED) is subtly different.

EVSE Protocol Controller

Note that there's two different versions - one that supports locking sockets, and the other supported tethered cables.