Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

21 - 36 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Do you know is it possible to upgrade/update 2012 system to newer Navi 950 intellikink which is in newer amperas/Volts?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
11,448 Posts
Do you know is it possible to upgrade/update 2012 system to newer Navi 950 intellikink which is in newer amperas/Volts?
Nav 950 was only on very rare (in UK) MY14. I believe the buttons on centre console are slightly different so although probably technically feasible I doubt cost effective.

I use a 4G tablet for Waze and to play Spotify playlist via Chromecast audio into aux. The integration between Spotify and Waze is very good these days. I still use factory nav about 50% of the time.
 

·
New EV driver
Joined
·
198 Posts
have
Nav 950 was only on very rare (in UK) MY14. I believe the buttons on centre console are slightly different so although probably technically feasible I doubt cost effective.

I use a 4G tablet for Waze and to play Spotify playlist via Chromecast audio into aux. The integration between Spotify and Waze is very good these days. I still use factory nav about 50% of the time.
you got a picture of your set up? Does the chromecast need an internet connection to stream from the phone of the music is on the phone?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #24 ·
I used to love the UFO tv series (and all of Gerry Andersons creations) being of that age and remember Ed Straker's car. You probably know this but it was built on the chassis of a Mk 4 Ford Zephyr. It was found a few years ago rotting away in someone's garden but is rumoured to have been saved and restored.It was made LHD because they thought UK would follow the rest of the world and drive on the right in the future It's us that got it right as mounting steps for horses were always on the left side of the road and hence natural to ride off on the left. The rest of the world got it wrong www.fanderson.org.uk
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
11,448 Posts
have

you got a picture of your set up? Does the chromecast need an internet connection to stream from the phone of the music is on the phone?
Away at present without Ampera but will do photos when back.

I use the 4G tablet in hotspot mode for the Chromecast to connect. To setup Chromecast you connect another device (eg mobile) to the hotspot. Hotspot isn't a Google supported Chromecast config and it stopped working for a while (due to Play update) but due to user pressure they fixed!
 
  • Like
Reactions: phildenholm

·
Ampera aka IGOR
Tesla Model 3 P
Joined
·
3,600 Posts
Digging up an old thread here but during a rake on t'interweb I came across an offer of an upgrade to the maps on the Ampera. The only thing is mine is a 2013 and the offer is the last available version GM NAVI AUDIO PACKAGE EUROPE - 2013 Part number 22945592. Now the crux is that they say I need to contact the dealership to find out what my version is. I can't remember ever seeing it within the menus, although I seem to recall seeing an option, however, I am sure it was greyed out as not selectable. Has anyone found out a way to identify their version of the maps?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,952 Posts
Who would want to pay money for that stupidly designed satnav? How could GM in all honesty release or even purchase software that is clearly unfinished with that stupid shrill text to voice program.
The recorded voice is perfectly ok but the one that reads road names out needs toning down a few octaves.

The lack of upgrades is hardly surprising! The basic satnav works reasonably but needed a switch to disable reading road names.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
465 Posts
Who would want to pay money for that stupidly designed satnav? How could GM in all honesty release or even purchase software that is clearly unfinished with that stupid shrill text to voice program.
The recorded voice is perfectly ok but the one that reads road names out needs toning down a few octaves.

The lack of upgrades is hardly surprising! The basic satnav works reasonably but needed a switch to disable reading road names.
I quite like the Ampera SatNav - the calm voice and her hysterical sister are much better than the iPhone version that I used on the Astra. She was always telling me that she was “recalculating” whenever I took a short cut or wrong turn.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
51 Posts
I use a sat nav for everything except local journeys , however its not for the navigation but for showing the speed limit and making a warning sound if I exceed it. These features are not available on the Vauxhall unit and therefore I have no intention of upgrading the maps. In this day and age with cameras everywhere, its unthinkable to use a sat nav without speed warnings and a display of the speed limit. I like the idea of having my ampera screen mirror my phone screen which is something I will do in the future, for now I have satnav on a phone on a holder. Sometimes I have both sat navs running simultaneously so I get double instructions which makes sure I don't forget to turn off the motorway when I should. While discussing sat navs, just a reminder if you drive in France, speed camera warnings are illegal... even the ones disguised as "danger areas". Fine is up to 1500 euros and they can confiscate the car. I have removed all camera warnings from all my devices.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
The sat nav is upgradeable to maps from late 2020. I know this as the sat nav system is shared with SAAB 9-5 2010-2011 and I have done it on that model.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
I have not managed upgrades via USB or DVD unfortunately, there are so many things that have to be applied correctly and if something breaks, it could mean the navi hangs there. The update uses map data from a different brand and requires you to take the hard drive out of the car and manually copy new maps on to the drive:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Well, almost right.
The discs are all identical, but you receive an "activation code" with the discs that is calculated from your VIN. There's a "special" file on the disc with a code in it and the navi unit knows the VIN of the car. When you insert the update DVD, the navi unit will ask for the unlock code. These 3 codes (on disc, VIN and code you receive) need to match up for the update to be allowed.
I haven't cracked the code, but if you buy one update, like the 2013 (maps from 2012) you receive the unlock code for your car, for the 2013 update. I can create a 2020 disc with the same code as the 2013-update and your activation code will be accepted.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Well, cracking that part is mildly complicated. The way I upgrade is just to rip the hard drive out of the car. On a SAAB that takes about 10 minutes.
Then I copy new contents to the drive which takes about 45 minutes due to a pretty slow hard drive. Then just mount the drive back.
If you're in a hurry you can do it in an hour.
Even if most phone-apps are better, it is very convenient to have an updated satnav in the car with a big screen for quick access. I like to use it on long trips too just for keeping track of estimated arrival. And, when having new data, it's easy to lookup nearest services.
 
21 - 36 of 36 Posts
Top