Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I bought an EV through Tusker cars and got a "free" charger via ChargedEV.

My house burned down recently and a new electricity cabinet was built (100A fuse), with a thick mains cable buried deep, going to the garage where it splits to the Garage customer unit and the house. Pictures are attached.

cabinet:

RCD 100A

Main switch 100A (just before the big thick black cable going to the garage, underground)

Garage: mains cable arriving into splitter

Splitter box open - my electrician told me that an EV charger could be fitted here?

I have been exchanging emails with them for the past 6 months and they now say that:

"I have had them look through the images to see what we can do and unfortunately the current supply cannot be used for an installation. The reason for this is because of the type of protection that the circuits provide is not adequate for a charging point.

The only way that the install can go ahead at the moment is if a trench is dug from the outside cabinet to the garage so that a new cable can be ran.

This trench needs to be at least 450mm deep and have a piece of ducting with a pull through cord inside and is unfortunately not something that our engineers can undertake."

That seems crazy, given the mains cable installed.

Could someone please confirm if what ChargedEV is correct or are they just trying to avoid a "free" installation?

Cheers

·
Registered
530 Posts
What's the cable core size going from the 100A main switch to the garage?

It looks a 10mm^2 armoured to me, which might not be enough if they are taking into account the 32A load demand for the EV charger AND the existing load in the garage as well, and also the cable length (to calculate for voltage drops due to the cable resistance).

·
Registered
2,205 Posts