Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I'm totally new to EVs, I've just put a deposit down on a 66-plate Passat GTE and I'd like a rough idea of the future upkeep costs. I'm assuming I will need main-dealer servicing due to the high-voltage system? Can anyone tell me a ballpark figure for an annual service (bog standard, no extra work)? For context, I will be driving fewer than 5k miles per year.

Also, has anyone had the 5-year cam belt replacement done – if so, what were you charged?

Thanks in advance for any info!

PS. Is there anything I should look out for before completing the purchase, e.g. known faults/issues with these cars? I know the 6-speed DSG box had an oil change last week, so that's one less thing to worry about.

·
Registered
127 Posts
I can't help with servicing costs I'm afraid since mine was a company car and I never saw the costs on service receipts I received. There is a thread on cam belts for Golf GTE which will likely be identical for Passat since it's the same drivetrain:
Golf GTE Cambelt Change Cost

With 5k miles per year you can expect one service per year, alternating between 'oil change' and 'oil change + inspection' ('minor' and 'major' in my view). DSG oil change and spark plugs are every 40k miles or 4 years I think.

Re. completing your purchase, I would do the following:
  • ensure full service history is in place, including any recalls
  • review MOT online for any past failures and action to resolve them if necessary
  • make sure both 13A and Type-2 charge cables are present and correct (they should also come with rubber 'boots' to go round the car-end plug for use in snowy/freezing weather, not that I have ever bothered tbh).
  • check terms of any warranty and ensure it covers hybrid components
  • general body / wheel condition and even tyre wear with reasonable tread, locking wheel nut present, etc.