Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
182 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been a diesel driver for years but have hankered after an EV for a few years, doing my research! A family member might want to buy my low mileage 2015 Dacia Duster diesel car, so I'm seriously pondering what to get now. Whilst I love my gadgets I also dig functionality over style, so what some might see as an ugly duckling, is not necessarily ruled out.

If I kept the diesel as a second vehicle I've been seriously tempted by the Twizy as a fun run around but if I'm selling the diesel, I'll need a far more capable vehicle. My only issue is my driveway is barely the length of a car, there's no gate and it's a busy main road (Southampton's very own Piccadilly Circus), where school children walk past every day. This means any car parked on the driveway needs to be reversed on as reversing out into a busy road is a no-go. This also means any electric car cannot have a charge port on the nose, as the darling little feral, pint sized crotch goblins will snap the plug and charge flap whilst walking by, the moment I turn my back!

So, I'm needing a short list of EVs which have side accessed charging ports. Budget £15-30k ish. Not that interested in PCP or finance unless I can get a discount then pay it off in full soon after, as I usually own a vehicle until it becomes a liability to keep repaired. New or nearly new / ex demo etc. The ones I can think of right now are:

• Peugeot e208
  • Peugeot e2008
  • Vauxhall Corsa -e
  • Vauxhall Mokka -e
  • Citroen E-C4
  • Citroen Berlingo Electric
  • Mini Electric (bit small but it is cute)
  • BMW i3 (do like the styling, but worried BMW aftersales will be costly and painful)
  • VW ID.3 (do I really want to be a software beta tester for what might be Windows ME on Wheels??)
  • VW eUP and the VAG siblings (bit small, only 3kw charging on AC I seem to recall)
  • Skoda Enyaq