Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here... I’ve just ordered my first plug in hybrid and now looking at getting an EV charger installed. I’ve done a fair bit of research and am looking for some advice with regard to my options to locate the charger. As you can see from the photo below I have a large steel posted terrace that sits over the top of my car parking spaces. It seems from what I’ve read that you cannot have any other metal objects within 2.5 metres of the car or the charger? Is that correct? Obviously for me that would be impossible to achieve, so are there alternative earthing options available for me to still get a charger installed? It is quite probable that I could touch both the car (while it is charging) and one of the steel poles at the same time.

·
Registered
230 Posts
As long as the charging point is correctly earthed, then you shouldn't have any problems.

Just to adjust your terminology, the charger is in your car, you would be installing a charging point on the building.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
As long as the charging point is correctly earthed, then you shouldn't have any problems.

Just to adjust your terminology, the charger is in your car, you would be installing a charging point on the building.
Thanks Tall Phil - correction noted - I’m still getting used to the correct terminology ??

·
Registered
4,093 Posts
You need to ensure that your installation is a TT one with a true Earth and does not rely on a PME Earth. Putting a true Earth may be costly due to needing to go through your lovely paving but it is much safer. Which side of the vertical post are you planning on parking, where do you want the charge point installed, and where is your meter?

Reactions: GM7

·
Registered
2,163 Posts