Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
Kona PremSe64k 2020+bluelink +ohme
468 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay i am a newbie at this. So please forgive me. After two days of differing results I want to know the exact steps to ensure charging happens at home. I have searched high and low for a step-by-step process to ensure charging happens, and come short. So here are the steps for my kona so far.

I apologise if you think this is all stupid, wrong. As I say I am a newbie.

I am not talking about public vs private charging, just the practical steps to get my car charging everytime.

1. Ensure engine is off and car is in park mode.
2. Lock/Close & open driver's door.
3. Open charging door by pushing on top corner. If icy you may need to remove some ice.
4. If wet remove droplets with kitchen roll first so any water does not enter the charging holes.
5. If using a non-tethered cable connect end to mains power supply first
6. Ensure both ends go in firm.
7. If using Hyundai scheduled charging then charging won't start until the scheduled charging session starts
8. if using charging cable (eg Ohme) schedule then, again charging won't charge until this system activates/permits it to charge.
9. Otherwise charging handshake happens and charging starts or is readied to start
10. The first sign is a click of the two charging ends locking into position. (Just one end if tethered.)
11. Then you should see lights begin to change inside the Kona charging door as the handshake takes place.
12. Also inside the Kona...
13. Switch on the engine and in the main dashboard there should be a red/orange cable S-shape showing a charging cable is connected.
14. On the right of the dashboard it should report charging status information.

What can go wrong?
A. Duff cable (connectors broken)
B. Wet cable connectors
C. Too cold to charge.
D. Scheduled charging (either Hyundai or system at other end of cable preventing charging at this time.) issues.