Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
1,269 Posts
Yes, just been reading it (I have a times subscription). That's the problem with posting links to Times articles I'm afraid, the only way to share them is copy and paste the whole article. Which I hesitate to do on a public forum like this. It makes pretty depressing reading, a litany of charge points either not working at all or operating with insufficient supply feeds so charging doesn't work properly. All the things that have been reported and discussed at length on this forum. Kevin Is quoted... At least the article ends on a positive point which is that sales of pure electric vehicles have risen by 200% of this time last year - but makes the obvious point that this interest risks being choked off if drivers find they can't rely on getting a charge when they need one.

Reactions: Kevin Sharpe

·
Banned
3,116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
@Paul yeh, it's very sad... I had two long chats with the reporter Dominic Tobin and I got the impression he was genuinely impressed by the BMW i3 and absolutely stunned by the charging network failures. My hope is that BMW find this unacceptable and step in and sort out the CM network they have invested in.

·
Registered
277 Posts
Could I point out that the i3 doesn't charge unless the car is locked up - I notice that during the failure he experienced in Bristol he had the boot wide open... That'd be why.

·
Banned
961 Posts
Could I point out that the i3 doesn't charge unless the car is locked up - I notice that during the failure he experienced in Bristol he had the boot wide open... That'd be why.