Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
327 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Did anyone see "Tonight" about the adoption of EV's in the UK? What a load of tosh. I was expecting a balanced programme about the pros and cons and all I go was the perpetuation of all the urban myths.

It was the same old tired format of taking two complete novices, putting them in an EV with only 120 miles of range and see if they can get to London. They had a man from the AA talking about having to use flat bed trucks to recover an EV from the motorway network if it runs out of charge, without mentioning that it has never happened (Google it), and that over 1,500 fossil cars having to be recovered in 2018 (Google that as well). And then they had some professor who I think was talking about laptop batteries, because he said the technology was improving so that in the future, the batteries wouldn't have to be replaced, completely ignoring the 100,000 mile warranty.

I left a comment on the ITV.com website saying how diasappointed I was with their negative reporting and for once couldn't they ask an EV owner to do one of these shows and get a real perspective on EV ownership.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Another half hour of TV filled with dumbed down cheap content.
Can’t imagine anyone who watched that rushing out to buy an electric car.
Electric cars aren’t perfect but they deserve a more factual reporting format then ITV are able to or want to provide.

Can’t remember seeing an educational or informative programme on TV this year on any subject. Stopped expecting anything else but one day it will happen! (Live in hope)

·
Registered
16,897 Posts
It wouldn’t be very interesting TV if they got to work on time without incident, now would it?

Or the fact that owners normally just charge at home during normal commuting.

·
Registered
149 Posts
and again on the bias BBC same old adage.
Fuels the we need to do 600 miles every day.