Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I thought I'd share how I automated keeping track of my home charge sessions with my granny charger! I don't qualify for the OLEV grant and my car can only charge up to 3.7kw anyhow, so not a huge advantage for me either way.

However, I wanted to know how much I was spending so that I could keep track of it.

In order to do this, I've leveraged SmartThings, WebCore, Microsoft Power Automate (Flow), and Excel Online (using Onedrive Business in Office 365 E3). I'm an automation engineer, so of course I had to go a bit overboard, lol.

I have 2 basic things I'm tracking: individual charges and the total monthly cost. I clear the kwh counter at the beginning of each month when I add the total to my monthly spreadsheet table.

Individual Charge Tracking:

This data is all coming from an Aeon Labs wall plug (or generic clone) with power metering...

This then goes into Microsoft Power Automate....

Which finally sends the data into my spreadsheet...

Monthly Cost Tracking:

Once again, start out in WebCore (using SmartThings data)...

This is then picked up by Microsoft Power Automate (Flow)...

And then finally into my excel sheet...

As a bonus, I also created a virtual device that will set off my smartthings siren if someone were to cut the cable when I'm sleeping:

This basically updates the state of a virtual contact device, which is then monitored by SmartThings' Smart Home Monitor.

Final note is that I had some issues lining up the variable names as Microsoft Power Automate doesn't like leading @ symbols in the JSON object... but I eventually managed to manually override the property names and it works. Also note: I've blanked out or anonymized all my personal URLs / file paths.

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
What granny charger does it works with?
Literally any granny charger.