Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My TPMS light keeps coming on! Initially pumped up the tyres to recommend PSI and reset but came up the next day driving to work. Then pumped to over the PSI and rest, went for a little drive and it’s come back on again. Checked them when we got home and they were exactly the same PSI, no loss in any of them so not sure why the TPMS keeps flagging?
Help! Does a dealership need to look at this or would a normal tyre garage know how to sort?
P.s I’m a newbie so if I’m missing something glaringly obvious, my apologies.

·
Registered
Nissan LEAF30
9,616 Posts
Sounds like the battery in one of your TPMS has died.
What age of car?
Do you have access to LEAFSpy?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Sounds like the battery in one of your TPMS has died.
What age of car?
Do you have access to LEAFSpy?
Oh that doesn’t sound ideal! It’s a 2016, I only got it a few weeks ago. What’s LEAFSpy?

·
Registered
Nissan LEAF30
9,616 Posts
Five years is about their average life.

LEAFSpy is inexpensive software that you can run on a smartphone and via a suitable OBD2 dongle interrogate the car's systems. It will tell you what each tyre sensor is reading and whether they are all connected.

If you buy LEAFSpy make sure that you research the correct dongle - it's very sensitive.

·
Registered
121 Posts
If it comes on about a minute after driving flashing for about 60 seconds and then goes solid it's either a faulty TPMS sensor, a missing one or a low battery. I just had one replaced and they charged me £43 for it + labour.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
If it comes on about a minute after driving flashing for about 60 seconds and then goes solid it's either a faulty TPMS sensor, a missing one or a low battery. I just had one replaced and they charged me £43 for it + labour.