Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I've just joined the forum.
I'm a long standing electric car enthusiast and used to race early 'ev's' in the 80s with the BVS as it was then. I've often wanted to convert a car in the past then recently had a Leaf on lease for a couple of years and finally I'm currently in the process of converting my Smart Roadster to Electric, although it's taking a long time as I don't have much time to spare. Mechanically it's mostly together but after looking into batteries I've realised there isn't a good answer or at least not one that doesn't involve lots of risk and expense.

I'm a product designer by trade although not in this field but I've been considering the problem and think there may be a requirement some innovation here.

So my question comes in 2 parts;
As I suffered terrible range anxiety with the Leaf on long trips (and had to borrow someones mains socket one night) having a 'fuelcan' of power seems like a useful thing. I've seen people carrying generators around to combat this issues but a LiFePo4/Li-ion powerpack of say 2KW/h that you can carry around in the boot and plug in when your out of juice seems like it may be useful?.

I also think standardising on a high power battery format would help the future of EVs, all the car companies are developing their own battery format, controls, voltages etc but at some point there must be some/a standard. By that I mean rather like AA batteries we settle on a NN format where you can plug in a number of packs to either replace or upgrade your capacity. I'm thinking along the lines of the 18650/ laptop sized cells in arrays of say 200 (~2kw/h at the moment), this NN battery 'cartridge' then attaches to a controller that manages the batteries (which configures the output perhaps) and the whole lot is a carry-able size which you can plug into the car. So depending on the car there might be 10-20 of these?!.