Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
Hyundai Ioniq 28kWh
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
Tomorrow I'm going to have a look at & test drive of a 2018 Premium SE Ioniq.
I'm new to EVs - this will be the first I've ever driven!

I've done plenty of general EV research, but would appreciate any advice on what to look out for.

·
Registered
Hyundai Ioniq 28
7,752 Posts
The classic Ioniq 28 kWh model is pretty bulletproof over the specific EV parts of the car so you should just concentrate on the normal car buying aspects such as trim and body damage. As well as all of the normal car things like electric windows, wipers and washer. Drive close to an obstruction -back and front to test the proximity sensors.

Specifically, you will need to try out all of the EV controls to see that they work such as selecting all driving modes and all levels of regen using the flappy paddles. In particular, hold down the right-hand paddle for a second or so and experience the 'coast' feature where the car appears to be captured by a Startrek traction beam and is pulled along the road for an unfeasible distance before power is again needed. Then hold the left-hand paddle for a second or so to engage max regen and try out the one-pedal driving technique where you don't need the normal brake pedal at all as the regen regulates speed when you lift off.

Also, if possible, that the 'hold' feature and things like the adaptive cruise work. Seat and wheel heaters etc. But I would be surprised if you find any glitches. As I say, these cars appear to be pretty trouble-free over such things with hardly any mention of any common issues in forums.