Speak EV - Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 68 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

Newbie here. I've been thinking about buying a BEV for a while, recently test drove the Zoe and a Leaf. I prefer the Zoe (will probably get a '17 or' 18 model). But I am sensitive to high frequency electrical noise, and am concerned that I might get annoyed by the charging whine from the car at night. It will be parked on my drive in front of my bedroom window, and as its a quiet area I generally have the windows open in summer. The one I heard charging at the dealership was really loud (but maybe that's because it was a 22kW charger?). So I have a few questions:
  1. If you /family members are sensitive to this kind of noise, how loud/annoying do you find it?
  2. Can anything be done to reduce noise on the car? I've read about having filters fitted to the charge point in case the harmonics cause issues in the house wiring, but not found any fixes for the noise generated in the car bonnet.
  3. Have Renault /are Renault doing anything to improve this, ie. are newer Zoes better? Is it worth waiting for the September 2019 versions?
Thanks in advance for your help!

·
Registered
17,355 Posts
I’m not sure if it’s louder at 22 kW as I’m usually in a larger parking garage when it happens.

When we had the ZOE outside the front of the house I never noticed the noise, and we had only single glazing at the time.

Like all noises, you tend to get used to them, so I doubt you’ll notice it after the first week or so.

·
Premium Member
2020 Corsa E
7,086 Posts
The appalling charging noise is often picked up by some mains electrical devices. I can hear mine in the consumer unit cupboard. If I open the microwave door I can hear it in there and also one of the UPS devices picks it up. That's using the normal 7kw charging.

The actual car itself I can't really hear so much. Unless it's warm then the fans are going and they're quite loud.

Renault deny there is a problem.